PHIL ARTS: Sleepless Nights and Beautiful Sights

I am currently in a classroom full of students frantically typing their final examinations for their Phil Arts class.

You may be asking, “What is Phil Arts?” Well, Phil Arts was my introduction to Filipino contemporary art. Contemporary Art is my newest form of artistic expression and societal commentary. It was beyond what I usually saw in traditional art styles as it was tackling something so much bigger than the paint and brush itself. Contemporary Art can be seen as a reflection of oneself and a reflection of the society and culture one lived in. So as to present contemporary art, here is my reflection:

PT2

The above artwork was my attempt of creating a contemporary self portrait. It has been named “Creating Myself” and is also the best artwork of the performance task. it is under the art form of digital art as it was created using Photoshop. The subject of the artwork is my self image. The message behind it is how a person is responsible with their own self image meaning you are who you create yourself to be.

The second artwork I created in class is the 3D artwork. With the guidelines provided and the theme of “what I want to give to the world” I made a pair of spectacles. This artwork was created with recycled cardboard and tubing attached with tape. The glasses symbolize my visions of the probable future. Under the first lens is the horrible outcome of our actions and how our greed can destroy our world for future generations. Under the second lens is the sought-for outcome for our future generations where nature and the beauty of the world itself is sustained.

 

PT4 unenhanced

The third artwork created in class is the traditional techniques artwork wherein I used the technique of frotage. Frotage is the technique wherein objects are shaded over to create an image. In this case I shaded over a cassette tape to create “LOVE.” This artwork was created to present another thing I want to give to the world. I believe we should share our love to the world, and what better way to show it than through Music.

The final artwork we created in class is the artwork under the local techniques and materials. In this project we created masks that are known to be traditional symbols in Filipino culture. We created the masks using local materials such as dead sampaguitas and feathers (used in the left mask), and bamboo leaves (used in the right mask). This artwork is entitled “life and death” showing how both are beautiful aspects of nature. The message behind the artwork is how we want to bring the promise of closure and rebirth into the new world.

This introduction to contemporary art truly allowed me to present my artistic reflection to myself and to the world. Through the process of creating these artworks I truly saw what it meant to be able to express myself. This class also changed my viewpoint of what art is as it was presented as a process of expression rather than the output of the ability to use a paintbrush. I was also able to see that I was surrounded by art wherever I went. I realized that art was not merely a canvas presented in the most prestigious art galleries in the country, but art was the beauty I saw around me created by society.

Art and Beauty itself, is not defined by the price one is willing to pay for it or the stars one is tasked to give to it. Art is defined by how we see ourselves in it.

 

 

 

Leave a comment